Columbia College | Columbia Engineering

Events/Workshops

First-in-Family Programs (FiF) serves Columbia’s first-generation undergraduates in order to help them thrive in the college environment. We offer programs, academic advising, social events, and informal support to build community and help all Columbia students excel.

 

First-in-Family Fall 2019 Events

 

Sunday, August 25, 12p - 1p: NSOP First-in-Family Welcome Reception

Friday, September 6, 1p - 2p (H&I): First Week Check-in 

*Friday, September 13, 12.30p - 2p: Intro to CC/SEAS & Train Your Brain: Time Management workshop

Friday, September 13, 10a: Career Fair Preview

*Friday, September 27, 12.30p - 2pm: Writing 101: Writing Practices for Success 

Wednesday, October 2, 6p - 8p: Telling your Story with CCE

*Friday, October 11, 12:30p - 2p: Academic Integrity @ CU

Thursday, October 24, 4p - 6p: Summer Enrichment Opportunities Session (w/ASP)

*Friday, October 25, 12:30p - 2p: First-Generation College Student Reflections Workshop (OMA/CPS)

*Friday, November 8, 12:30p - 2p: Introduction to the Libraries 

Friday, November 15, 12:30p - 2p: First-in-Family Spring Group Advising Session

Friday, November 15, TBD: Career Outing @ Google

*Friday, November 22, 12:30p - 2p: Global Opportunities & Study Abroad @ CU

*Friday, December 6, 12:30p - 2p: Prepping for Finals 

Thursday, December 12, 1p - 3p: Study Break (with ASP)

*Part of the FiF First Year Seminar
All events will take place at the Center for Student Advising, 401 Lerner Hall, unless otherwise specified.
For info, please email fif@columbia.edu
 

 

 

 

James H. and Christine Turk Berick Center for Student Advising

Visit

403 Alfred Lerner Hall
2920 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

Call: (212) 854-6378

Fax: (212) 854-2458

Office Hours
Monday–Friday
9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.

Walk-in Hours (Sept-May)
Monday–Thursday
3:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.