Columbia College | Columbia Engineering

Events/Workshops

First-in-Family Programs (FiF) serves Columbia’s first-generation undergraduates in order to help them thrive in the college environment. We offer programs, academic advising, social events, and informal support to build community and help all Columbia students excel.

First-in-Family Fall Events & Workshops

  • First Week Check-In
    Friday, September 9, 2 p.m.
    401 Lerner

  • Writing Center Workshop
    TBA

  • Career Fair Preview
    Friday, September 23, 10 a.m.
    Location TBA

  • How to Connect with Faculty
    Friday, September 23, 2 p.m.
    401 Lerner

  • Theatre Outings
    • Hamlet, Tuesday, October 4, 7 p.m.
    • Duat at Soho Rep., Thursday, October 20, TBA

  • First-Gen Alumni Panel with the Center for Career Education
    Friday, October 7, 4 p.m.
    401 Lerner

  • Halloween Social Event
    Friday, October 28, 4 p.m.
    401 Lerner

  • Fellowships & Study Abroad
    Friday, November 4, 3 p.m.
    Location TBA

  • Career Days: Studio Libeskind
    Friday, December 2, 9 a.m.
    Studio Libeskind
  • Studying for Finals
    Friday, Dec. 2, 3 p.m.
    Location TBA

  • FiF/CUSP/ASP Lunch Break
    Wednesday, December 14, 12 p.m.
    401 Lerner
  • Friday Sundae Social
    Friday, February 3, 2 p.m.
    401 Lerner
  • Inside-Out Internship Search
    Tuesday, February 7, 4 p.m.
    401 Lerner
  • Train Your Brain: The Science of Time Management
    Wednesday, March 22, 3:30 p.m.
    401 Lerner
  • Spring Study Abroad and Fellowship Information Session
    Friday, March 31, 2 p.m.
    401 Lerner
  • Spring Social
    Friday, April 7, 3:30 p.m.
    401 Lerner
          Theatre Outings
  • Samara, Soho Rep., Thursday, April 20, 8 p.m.
  • Twelfth Night, The Public Theater, Saturday, April 29, 2 p.m.

 

  • Career Days: Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
  • Friday, April 21, 10 a.m.
  • MoMA
  • Studying for Finals
  • Friday, April 28, 2:30 p.m.
  • 401 Lerner
Additional events throughout the term

Resources for Students

Your advising dean will work with you to help make your Columbia experience as productive and rewarding as possible. Visit early and visit often to discuss everything from academic planning to college adjustment. Your advising dean is a Columbia expert and can connect you to helpful resources throughout campus.
 
Free tutoring service for select intro courses. If interested, connect with your advising dean.
 
The Financial Aid Office helps you understand your aid and can be of service if you face a financial emergency.
 
Free counseling. CPS can be a resource if you find yourself struggling with difficulties ranging from anxiety to homesickness to stress.
 

Visit Our Office

All students are invited to visit First-in-Family Programs staff. Call or email any time, or visit us during the Berick Center for Student Advising during walk-in hours, Monday through Friday, 3-4:30 p.m.
 
James H. and Christine Turk Berick Center for Student Advising
403 Lerner, 212-854-6378
 
Alex España - Associate Dean
 
Darius V. Echeverría - Advising Dean
 
Catherine Steindler - Advising Dean
 
Amanda Daugherty - Advising Dean
 

James H. and Christine Turk Berick Center for Student Advising

Visit

403 Alfred Lerner Hall
2920 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

Call: (212) 854-6378

Fax: (212) 854-2458

Office Hours
Monday–Friday
9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.

Walk-in Hours (Sept-May)
Monday–Thursday
3:00 p.m.–4:30 p.m.