The Named Scholars

The named Scholars supported by the CUSP administration are selected by the Office of Admissions when they submit their applications to Columbia University.  Scholars are chosen for their intellectual pursuits, extracurricular achievements, and promise for future growth and exploration.  Falling under four discrete Scholar designations (Kluge, John Jay, C.P. Davis, and Global), these Scholars distinguish themselves for their remarkable academic and personal achievements, dynamism, intellectual curiosity, the originality and independence of their thinking, and the diversity that stems from their different cultures and their varied educational experiences.  The Columbia Undergraduate Scholars Program has thus been specifically designed to serve as the humus from which Scholars, who have the demonstrated capacity to apply their intellectual gifts to better serve society, can expand and strengthen them, learning from each other as well as from leaders in the academic and professional world.

John W. Kluge Scholars

The John W. Kluge Scholars Program is sponsored through the generosity of a gift to Columbia University from John Kluge (CC'37) in 1987, to Columbia University.  John Kluge, born in Chemnitz, Germany, came to the U.S. when he was eight years old.  He was able to attend Columbia College because of a scholarship offered to him by the College.  After graduating with honors in Economics, John Kluge went on to enjoy a successful career in business.  Widely known for his generosity, John Kluge offered a gift that reflects his gratitude for the education Columbia College gave him.  “Columbia made a my life and I really want to ensure that it will continue to make a difference for others.”

John Jay Scholars

The John Jay National Scholars Program is an award program named after Founding Father and King’s College alumnus, John Jay, student of classics and the law and leading proponent of the principles of the American Constitution.  A dynamic figure during the first decades of the American experiment, John Jay served as President of the Continental Congress, ambassador to Spain and France, Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court, and Governor of New York State.  John Jay was a co-author of the Federalist Papers and a leading abolitionist in his day; as Governor, he signed into law the act that emancipated the slaves in New York in 1799.

C. Prescott Davis Scholars

The C.P. Davis Scholars Program was established in recognition of alumnus C. P. Davis, School of Mines Class of 1922, for his many years of loyalty, leadership and active support of The Fu Foundation School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and Columbia Engineering Alumni Association (CEAA). The scholarship recognizes his transforming bequest to CEAA, which enabled it to become an important and independent resource for the School, and its students, faculty and alumni. In gratitude for his visionary generosity and memorable accomplishments, Columbia Engineering established the C.P. Davis Scholars Program for entering students of extraordinary abilities to enjoy the advantage of  co-curriculum enhancement programs to prepare them for excellence in their chosen professions.

Global Scholars

The Global Scholars Program is a Columbia College award that recognizes the importance of the diversity of cultural and educational experiences in today’s increasingly global world. In addition to the named Scholars listed above, the CUSP administration also works with the following scholar groups.  Many of the programs and opportunities offered by CUSP are available to these scholars.  These scholars are encouraged to schedule an appointment with CUSP staff to discuss applicable elements of the CUSP curriculum.

Egleston Scholars

The Egleston Scholars Program is named after Professor Thomas Egleston, who founded the Columbia School of Mines in 1864.  Known in his time as a foremost expert on mining and metallurgy, Egleston served as President of the American Institute of Mining Engineers, and twice received France’s highest decoration, Légion d'honneur.  The Thomas Egleston Medal for Distinguished Engineering Achievement was established in 1939 in his honor and is the School’s most prestigious alumni award.  In this spirit, the Egleston Scholars Program recognizes undergraduate students of Columbia Engineering who embody the mission of the School at large: “to educate socially-responsible engineering and applied science leaders whose work results in the betterment of the human condition, locally, nationally, and globally.”

Science Research Fellows

The Science Research Fellowship is an honor bestowed upon some of Columbia College’s most promising science students.  These fellows have distinguished themselves through their intellectual curiosity, academic abilities, and clear interest in and commitment to scientific research.

Columbia Undergraduate Scholars Program


403 Alfred Lerner Hall
2920 Broadway
New York, NY 10027

Call: (212) 854-6378

Fax: (212) 854-2562

Office Hours
9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.